格拉苏蒂原创表盘制造厂

表盘的生产,据息是制造精美机械腕表过程中最为困难的工作之一。除了要求创意与完美,还要求最大程度地关注细节。因此,对于格拉苏蒂原创 (Glashütte Original)来说,表盘生产扮演着特殊的角色。我们的表盘独一无二,均在距离格拉苏蒂镇600公里的普福尔茨海姆市 (Pforzheim) 的自有制造厂内完成。

格拉苏蒂原创制表厂的产品设计师们在与表盘制造厂沟通之前,已花费大量时间用于构思表盘设计,并同市场部和销售部等部门展开讨论,这个过程一直持续到完成最终设计并交由表盘制造厂生产。

一旦某款格拉苏蒂原创腕表的表盘设计和材质被确认后,一组由材料专家和表盘专家组成的团队就开始生产流程的准备。

格拉苏蒂原创的表盘制造厂是仅有的可以从原始材料开始生产表盘的几家工厂之一。根据需求,这些表盘的材质也许是黄金,白金和白银或者是传统的制表材质如德国银和黄铜。

表盘的各项尺寸都和它之后所要搭配的机芯有关。因此,表盘尺寸的误差必须在 0.2 毫米之内。表盘的平均厚度为 0.8 毫米。

而采用特殊材料制造的表盘,如易碎的珍珠贝母等,通常会加上一块 0.4 毫米金属薄板和 0.4 毫米厚的有机材料层。

大部分表盘制造工作均由手工完成,如镶嵌工艺、在时标上涂夜光材料或表面装饰花纹的添加等。

七十年代大日历腕表表盘的太阳纹由人手旋转黄铜刷完成,这需要非常丰富的经验。

当基本材料的制造完成后,会被漆上或电镀上一层颜色。电镀的过程是表盘被送往电镀车间1至2小时,温度控制在 110 至 140 °C 之间,温度的不同依颜色本身及颜色深浅而定。

最后一步是最有难度的步骤之一,需要多年的经验才能完成,这就是:印刷。对于某些特定的表盘,刻度线和数字均采用印刷而非镶饰,如议员观测者腕表 (Senator Observer) 的表盘。

这道工序采用的是所谓的“移印 (pad printing)”的印刷方法。用硅胶或橡胶移印头蘸上刻有相反图像的凹版中的油墨,然后如同橡胶印章一样将图像按压在表盘上。

表盘在制造过程中必须经过 6 次不同的质检才能被视为制造完成。整个表盘与其各处细节在完成前需要约 75 个独立的工作步骤,然后才能成就格拉苏蒂原创 (Glashütte Original) 腕表的“玉颜”。

Glashütte Original Dial manufactory

The production of dials is doubtless one of the most difficult of all the tasks involved in making fine mechanical watches. Along with creativity and absolute perfection, the production process requires maximum care and attention to detail, and as such the production of dials at Glashütte Original plays a special role. The unique dials used in our manufactory are made in Pforzheim, some 600 km from Glashütte, our own dial manufactory.

Long before discussions with the dial makers begin, however, the product designers in the Saxon manufactory have already spent many hours working on the concept and talking with other departments such as marketing and sales about the final drawings.

Once the design and materials for a particular Glashütte Original dial have been determined, a team of goldsmiths and dial specialists prepares to set up the production process.

Glashütte Original’s dial maker is one of the few such firms to make its own blanks. Depending on the dial, the blanks may be made from precious metals such as yellow gold, white gold and Sterling silver, or from traditional watchmaking materials such as German silver and brass.

All of the dial measurements are related to the movement with which it will later be linked. For this reason the measurements must meet tolerance requirements of 0.2 millimeters. Dials are, on average, 0.8 mm thick.

Special versions such as those made of fragile mother of pearl, for example, are usually comprised, however, of a 0.4 mm metal plate and a 0.4 mm thick layer of organic material affixed to it.

Most of the work involved in making a dial is performed by hand, whether it is a matter of placing appliques, applying luminous material to applique indexes or monitoring the application of surface decorations.

Rotating brass brushes are used to give the dials of the Seventies Panorama Date a sun-brushed surface. This production method requires considerable experience.

When the basic material is complete, a layer of colour is added to the dial using a lacquer or by means of galvanisation.

The colours layered on in this way are then fired in a galvanics department kiln for one or two hours at a temperature between 110 and 140 °C, depending on the colour and depth of colour required.

One of the last and most difficult processing steps requires many years of experience: printing. On certain dials such as those of the Senator Chronometer and Senator Observer, scale lines and numerals are printed rather than applied.

This is done using the socalled pad printing method. A pad made of silicone or rubber takes up an inked image from a reverse-image engraving and presses the image like a rubber stamp onto the dial.

Before a dial is considered complete it must undergo, during production, six different quality checks. Altogether the dial, with all its various details, is subject to around 75 separate work steps before it is considered finished and able to give a Glashütte Original timekeeper its "face".